Estimated Reading time

2 Mins

Huux̱ Percy Crosby Steps Down from Coast Funds’ Board

The Haida Heritage Centre at Ḵay Llnagaay. Photo by Laura Hope.

Coast Funds’ board of directors today announced that Huux Percy Crosby has tendered his resignation as Chair and is stepping down from the board of directors, effective immediately. Percy’s resignation is due to personal reasons; the board fully supports Percy’s decision to move on to new opportunities, dedicating more of his time to his healing journey. We thank Percy for his many contributions to Coast Funds and his dedication to the coastal First Nations we serve.

Percy assumed the role of Chair in 2018, after serving as Vice-Chair starting in 2017, and director since 2013. As Chair, Percy has led Coast Funds through some important milestones, including our 10-year anniversary; the surpassing of $60 million in funding for First Nations’ economic development initiatives; and the development of our current Strategic Plan with focus on strengthening First Nations’ self-determined finance and the intergenerational sustainability of Coast Funds.

Percy’s commitment to Coast Funds and to the Nations we serve was untiring, and his enthusiasm is always inspiring. We know Percy will remain a strong supporter of Coast Funds and we wish him the very best.

The board has initiated recruitment for a new director to fill the vacancy and will be selecting Coast Funds’ next Chair over the coming weeks.

If you are interested in director opportunities with Coast Funds, please contact Brodie Guy, CEO at 604-684-0223 or

Coast Funds is dedicated to empowering First Nations in the Great Bear Rainforest and Haida Gwaii to achieve healthy and vibrant economies and communities in tandem with the conservation of their homelands for the benefit of future generations. We were created in 2007 out of mutual recognition by conservationists, First Nations, industry, and government that a sustainable economy is vital to conservation efforts in the Great Bear Rainforest and Haida Gwaii areas of British Columbia.